Home Interiors Different Categories Of Interior Lighting

Different Categories Of Interior Lighting

by Writer

Lighting is one of the important aspects of interior design. Lighting design plays a large role in helping create the right mood and ambiance for different rooms in a home.  There are 3 main types of indoor lighting used to create the ideal living space.

Ambient Lighting

Ambient or general lighting is intended to provide lighting in a room as a whole. It provides a steady source of lighting for an entire space. The type of lighting it provides is independent of other lighting sources that may also be in a room. The main aim of ambient lighting is to ensure safety and convenient overview of the entire room. It also aims to provide illumination to as much space as possible.

Accent Lighting

Accent lighting intends to provide illumination that focuses on a specific point in a room. This type of light can also give the impression of being in a larger room. But mostly, it is used to highlight a certain object, area or feature in a room. To achieve this desired effect, accent lighting usually provides three times or more light at a certain focal point than what ambient lighting provides in a certain room.

Task Lighting

Task lighting aims to aid people in the tasks being done inside a room. It provides illumination at a given space to help in tasks such as reading, writing, cooking, doing paper work, and other similar tasks. It provides focal lighting in common functional areas. It usually also comes with a separate switch that is independent of the switch used for overall lighting in the room.

Image Sources: Photo by Max Vakhtbovych from Pexels

You may also like

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: